Phylogenetic classification of the family Terebridae (Neogastropoda: Conoidea)

Type Article
Date 2019-11
Language English
Author(s) Fedosov Alexander E.1, Malcolm Gavin2, Terryn Yves3, Gorson Juliette4, 5, 6, Modica Maria Vittoria7, Holford Mande4, 5, 6, 8, 9, Puillandre Nicolas10
Affiliation(s) 1 : Russian Acad Sci, AN Severtsov Inst Ecol & Evolut, Leninskiy Prospect 33, Moscow 119071, Russia.
2 : Bird Hill,Barnes Lane, Milford On Sea, Hants, England.
3 : Kapiteinstr 27, B-9000 Ghent, Belgium.
4 : Hunter Coll, Dept Chem, Belfer Res Ctr, New York, NY 10021 USA.
5 : Amer Museum Nat Hist, Div Invertebrate Zool, New York, NY 10024 USA.
6 : CUNY, Grad Ctr, Program Biol, New York, NY 10016 USA.
7 : Staz Zool Anton Dohrn, Naples, Italy.
8 : CUNY, Grad Ctr, Programs Biol Chem & Biochem, New York, NY 10016 USA.
9 : Cornell Univ, Dept Biochem, Weill Cornell Med, New York, NY 10021 USA.
10 : Univ Antilles, Inst Systemat Evolut Biodiversite ISTEB, Museum Natl Hist Nat, CNRS,Sorbonne Univ,EPHE, 57 Rue Cuvier,CP 26, F-75005 Paris, France.
Source Journal Of Molluscan Studies (0260-1230) (Oxford Univ Press), 2019-11 , Vol. 85 , P. 359-387
DOI 10.1093/mollus/eyz004
WOS© Times Cited 7

The conoidean family Terebridae is an intriguing lineage of marine gastropods, which are of considerable interest due to their varied anatomy and complex venoms. Terebrids are abundant, easily recognizable and widely distributed in tropical and subtropical waters, but our findings have demonstrated that their systematics requires revision. Here we elaborate the classification of Terebridae based on a recently published molecular phylogeny of 154 species, plus characters of the shell and anterior alimentary system. The 407 living species of the family, including seven species described herein, are assigned to three subfamilies: Pellifroniinae new subfamily, Pervicaciinae and Terebrinae. The Pellifroniinae comprises five deep -water species in two genera, Pellifronia and Bathyterebra n. gen. Pellifroniinae possess a radula of duplex marginal teeth, well-developed proboscis and venom gland, and a very small rhynchodeal introvert. The Pervicaciinae includes c. 50 species in the predominantly Indo-Pacific genera Duplicaria and Partecosta. Pervicaciinae possess salivary glands, a radula of solid recurved marginal teeth and a weakly developed rhynchodeal introvert, but lack proboscis and venom gland. The remaining Terebridae species are classified into 15 genera in the subfamily Terebrinae (including four genera described herein); nine genera are defined on the basis of phylogenetic data and six solely on shell morphology. The Indo-Pacific genera Profitnditerebra n. gen., Maculauger n. gen. and Myurellobsis n. gen. each include about a dozen species. The first is restricted to the deep waters of the Indo-West Pacific, while the latter two range widely in both geographic and bathymetric distribution. Neoterebra n. gen. encompasses about 65 species from a range of localities in the eastern Pacific, Caribbean, and Atlantic, and from varying depths. To characterize the highly diversified genera Terebra, Punctoterebra, Myurella and Dublicaria, each of which comprise several morphological clusters, we propose the use of DNA-based diagnoses. These diagnoses are combined with more informative descriptions to define most of the supraspecific taxa of Terebridae, to provide a comprehensive revision of the group.

Full Text
File Pages Size Access
Publisher's official version 29 215 MB Open access
Suppl. data 2 566 KB Open access
Top of the page

How to cite 

Fedosov Alexander E., Malcolm Gavin, Terryn Yves, Gorson Juliette, Modica Maria Vittoria, Holford Mande, Puillandre Nicolas (2019). Phylogenetic classification of the family Terebridae (Neogastropoda: Conoidea). Journal Of Molluscan Studies, 85, 359-387. Publisher's official version : , Open Access version :